Into My Classroom

Fourth Year Biology Teacher Sharing My Musings With The World

June PD review

leave a comment »

June has been a very busy month for me.  I’ve attended a PD session every week this month.  Here is my reflection of each.

Developing Science Vertical Teams (June 7-10)  This workshop was conducted by a College Board representative and it was definitely not what I expected it to be.  We only spent around an hour on the last day of the workshop on vertical teaming.  The rest of the workshop was looking at different labs that students could do and sharing of resources.  I liked the workshop because I was able to meet other teachers in my district and share resources with them, but I was very disappointed in the workshop for the missing component of vertical teaming.  It would have been much better if the workshop was conducted by region instead of district.  That way I could have met teachers of our feeder schools and the process of vertical teaming would have been more beneficial.

AP Biology Curriculum (June 11) This workshop was conducted by the same presenter of the previous workshop. It’s not worth mentioning what we learned because the whole session was a summary of what we did in the vertical teaming workshop.  I could have definitely skipped out on this one.

AP Biology Summer Institute (June 14-18)  Again, another huge networking opportunity.  I was under the impression from other teachers that during this workshop we would perform all 12 AP labs.  I was prepared for this to be a very intensive week, but it was actually the opposite.  We only did 3 labs and it was very laid back.  I was really looking for a challenge this week.  I also thought that we would work on our audit, but we didn’t.

Microscope Workshops (June 21)  I attended two workshops in one day regarding microscopes.  The morning session was based on how to clean and care for your microscope, which was very informative.  The second session was on digital microscopes and I wasn’t going to attend at first because I thought it was just for schools with digital labs.  I spoke with our science coordinator and she told me that I could attend.  By attending this workshop, I received a digital microscope to take back to my school.  Very cool!

Vernier Workshop (June 22 and 23)  This was the most boring workshop of the month.  I guess it is because I attended a similar Vernier workshop a while back and some of the activities were the same.  I did get to network though!

Overall, the main benefit I got from the sessions this month was networking because I saw a lot of the same people over and over again.  Even though they were not what I expected, I did gain valuable resources to implement into the classroom.

Written by Ashley Erin

June 30, 2010 at 5:00 am

Leave a Reply

