Into My Classroom

Fourth Year Biology Teacher Sharing My Musings With The World

July PD.

leave a comment »

July was very eventful and full of learning opportunities!

Smithsonian Biodiversity Institute:  This institute was held in Washington, D.C. and I am really glad that I had the opportunity to attend.  Biodiversity is a weak area for me, being that I really love biochemistry.  I never get to teach biodiversity due to time restraints, but now I feel that I can incorporate it into earlier lessons.  Attending the institute will also help me in teaching AP Environmental Science.

During the institute, we spent time at the Smithsonian Natural History Museum, the National Zoo, the Smithsonian Environmental Research Center, along with many other places.  We learned about biodiversity of many different species ranging from tropical plants to echinoderms.  The institute was a mixture of presentations and hands-on activities.  We even went canoeing and I was so happy that I didn’t fall in the water!!!  We were so busy the entire week and it was very exhausting yet very fun.

AP Environmental Science Workshop:  This was very interesting because we took several field trips.  We went to a water treatment plant and coal plant.  I am excited about teaching this class because there are many different topics and all the lab supplies are already here so I can start labs early.

Written by Ashley Erin

August 9, 2010 at 3:41 pm

Leave a Reply

