Into My Classroom

Fourth Year Biology Teacher Sharing My Musings With The World

10 Questions…

with 6 comments

source (ganesha.isis)

source (ganesha.isis)

1. Why did you create this blog?

This blog originated as a method to reflect on each work day.  The plan was to spend 10 – 15 minutes immediately at the end of each day to reflect on teaching practices and methods.  Unfortunately, this has not been the case.  Once I discovered that my school blocked wordpress (recently), it discouraged me.  Although I do realize now that I could have emailed the post of typed it in evernote to post later.

2. When did you start blogging?

I started blogging about personal finance in 2008 and about beauty/makeup in 2009.  My personal finance blog is very active to this day, with regular posts.  I started this blog in the summer of 2010.

3. What is your most exciting moment as a teacher?

I would have to say that everyday is exciting, which is part of the reason why I love being a teacher.  If I had to choose one moment, I would say that it would be conducting a soil lab with my AP Environmental Science students.  It was so fun and I felt like I went through a time warp and was 10 years old again.

4. Where does your future lie?

My future is very uncertain right now.  There is so much that I want to do!!!  I have considered several things, such as: obtaining my PhD in Education, getting my Master’s in Microbiology, attending Pharmacy school, being an instructional facilitator, attending law school focusing on education policy, and teaching until retire!  I feel that my possibilities are endless and until I can narrow my passion, I will continue to teach and have fun!

5. What is your source of inspiration for teaching?

The most obvious one to me right now is Kim Foglia (www.explorebiology.com).  Kim was an AP Biology teacher that recently passed away from pancreatic cancer.  Not only is her website amazing, but she would offer lots of valuable advice on the AP listserv.  She was very knowledgeable in her content area and I only hope that I can reach the level of creativity and expertise that she displayed.

Another source of inspiration would be the former literacy coach at my school, Ms. Johnson.  Ms. Johnson is a very eloquent speaker and I aspire to reach that level one day.

6. What do you hope to achieve with this blog?

With this blog, I hope to strengthen my writing skills, build my PLN, and reflect on my daily practice so that I may become a better educator.

7. If you could write a letter to yourself during your first year teaching, what would you tell yourself?

I would tell myself that it is much better to use disruptions and behavior to your advantage as opposed to letting them stress you out.  For example, don’t go crazy if the students won’t be quiet.  Instead, incorporate group work and monitor the students working collaboratively.

8. What is one goal that you have for this school year?

To leave work at a reasonable time!!!  For me this would be 5 pm.  I have stayed until 6:30 -7 pm for far too long!

9. What do you not like about being a teacher?

Paperwork.

10. What do you love most about being a teacher?

Seeing the growth in my students, being able to micro-manage, being accountable for the education of our youth, seeing how excited students get when they learn or get something right

my post in a wordle

Written by Ashley Erin

January 11, 2011 at 9:18 pm

Posted in Refiections

Tagged with

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great post! Thanks for sharing. Why is wordpress blocked at your school, I wonder? Is there any chance you can get it unblocked? Our school is highly filtered, but wordpress remains available. At least you have worked out ways around it.
    Have you checked out some of the other bloggers in the challenge? There are a few science teachers amongst them that you might want to deliberately connect with. I teach with Britt Gow and her blog is TechnoScience (she has a few other blogs as well).

    murcha

    January 12, 2011 at 2:54 am

    • Thanks for the link. I recently checked and WordPress is now up again at my school. I’m off to check Britt’s blog now. Thanks!

      Ashley W.

      January 22, 2011 at 7:45 pm

  2. Sorry that link to Britt’s blog did not work. Here is the correct link Techno Science

    murcha

    January 12, 2011 at 2:56 am

  3. What a great post…thank you. Clearly you are passionate about teaching, learning and developing your PLN. I look forward to learning and sharing with you throughout this challenge.

    Penny

    January 18, 2011 at 11:49 pm

  4. Thanks for participating in the Teacher’s Blogging Challenge and visiting my post Ashley. I can see that you are a very motivated and hard working teacher with high expectations of yourself and your students. Like Anne, I was very surprised that WordPress has been blocked at your school. I think blogging is an excellent tool for goal-setting, documenting reflections and working with students.

    My Biology blog is at VCE Biology and my Environmental Science blog is at VCE Environmental Science
    VCE is the last two years of high school before University in Victoria, Australia. We are just finishing our summer holidays here, so those two blogs have not been very active of late, and I didn’t have the Environmental Science class last year. I would be very interested in the similarities in our curriculum.

    Keep up the great work Ashley, but give yourself a break sometimes too – lots of new teachers burn themselves out or get disillusioned when they put in 200%, but their students only put in 55%.

    Britt Gow

    January 22, 2011 at 8:53 pm


Leave a Reply

