Into My Classroom

Fourth Year Biology Teacher Sharing My Musings With The World

Making the Paperless Classroom a Reality

with 12 comments

I read a lot about technology that teachers are using in the classroom in order to have a “paperless classroom”, but truth be told, oftentimes when I read these posts I think that it cannot happen for me.  Earlier this week I read an effective post from the TeachPaperless blog “Example of a Paperless Final Exam“.  In this post, the author simply gives an example of what a paperless exam looks like in her classroom.  This is an effective post because the headline is interesting and makes the reader want to continue.  The post also motivates through example.  Anyone could say how to create a paperless exam, but to post one’s own adds a new level of dimension to the post.  I feel like I’m not at the stage yet for paperless exams, but this post did prompt me to begin thinking about paperless homework assignments.

Our school has adopted Gaggle as an email client for our students.  Gaggle is a safe platform where students can participate in forums, complete and turn in homework, store documents, and more.  Unfortunately I feel that many of the teachers in the district are not using it because there really has not been any training on it.

I would love to fully implement Gaggle into my classroom next year.  To help me plan and test it out, I will ask 10 of my students to volunteer to participate in completing homework online using Gaggle.  This will not add to their current homework, simply replace it.  At this point, I’m not quite sure of everything that Gaggle is capable of, but I should have fun trying to find out!

Written by Ashley Erin

January 22, 2011 at 7:11 pm

Posted in Technology

Tagged with ,

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Can’t wait to hear what you all do with Gaggle! Explore, experiment, and share.

    Shelly Blake-Plock
    teachpaperless.com

    Shelly Blake-Plock

    January 22, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    • Thanks Shelly! I love your blog!

      Ashley W.

      January 30, 2011 at 9:55 pm

  2. Ashley
    Trailing Gaggle with your students sounds like the best way to learn about the program. You can learn from each other while you are having fun.
    I haven’t seen or heard of this program before but it sounds similar to the one being used in Victorian schools. All the best with your trial. 🙂

    Penny Bentley

    January 24, 2011 at 3:16 am

  3. Hello A
    Your post caught my attention: a paperless classroom. I think the trend is moving there and I am curious to see how Gaggle works for you and your pioneering students. I would love to be able to go paperless also. I live in Mexico, and unfortunately, many administrators and teachers do not understand an online community and all it entails. I wonder how many free platforms are available to support a paperless classroom? I loved working with Blackboard when I was in a different school, but where I currently work, there is no platform. Is Gaggle free, like Moodle?
    Ellen

    I can do this

    January 24, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    • Our district paid to implement Gaggle. I have no idea in regards to the cost. I believe google has a free platform to use in schools. I used it when working on a teacher collaboration project at a local university.

      Ashley W.

      January 30, 2011 at 9:53 pm

  4. I think the idea of offering ‘paperless’ homework to ten students is a great idea. These students will certainly help you find any problems that you may have, as well as having great input into future classes.

    Hope your project is well received – please let us know how it works out!

    Good luck!

    Nancy C

    January 25, 2011 at 6:47 am

    • Thank Nancy and I will!

      Ashley W.

      January 30, 2011 at 9:51 pm

  5. Hi there, I saw your post in the Teacher Challenge summary for weeks 2/3. I am trying to become paperless as well. I am going to check out Gaggle as it sounds very effective but would like to suggest you check out Dropitto.me I posted about dropitto.me on my blog and YouTube channel. Dropitto.me allows you to collect work and store it electronically.

    Mr. Riley

    January 25, 2011 at 8:00 am

    • I will definitely take a look at that. The only reason I chose Gaggle is because our district has paid for it.

      Ashley W.

      January 30, 2011 at 9:50 pm

  6. Ashley,

    I agree with Penny. This is an excellent post. I have looked into gaggle.net, but your post has given me some background that will help me make a decision on having a discussion with my administrator in regards to using that email service.

    I also read somewhere in your blog that you started your own PLN. Wow you are doing things girl!!! Keep it the GREAT Work! We need more teachers like you.

    Reba Gordon Matthews

    January 26, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    • I’ll make sure to keep you updated on how it goes. I’m starting with it this week.

      Ashley W.

      January 30, 2011 at 9:50 pm


Leave a Reply

