Into My Classroom

Fourth Year Biology Teacher Sharing My Musings With The World

Activity Four – Meet the Blog’s Brain!

with 4 comments

In activity four of the advanced challenge, we were to create avatars for our blog.  Avatars are simply pictorial representations of yourself.  This representation will follow you online, particularly when you decide to leave a comment on another blog.  Avatars could be cartoonish or an actual picture of yourself.  Below is the avatar I created using Voki. (Sorry the image won’t come up!  You can click on this link and the avatar will appear.)

If you click on the play button, you will actually hear my voice!  Can you hear the southern accent???

I chose the look of my avatar to resemble how I actually look.  In regards to actual pictures or cartoon avatars, I prefer actual pictures.   I feel that by adding a picture of yourself, you are opening yourself up to your readers or online community.  People will feel closer to you by actually seeing you.

On another note, I love how having a cartoon as an avatar allows your readers to see a different side of you and allows you to be creative in your online presence.

In regards to students, I would definitely prefer the cartoon avatar because of safety concerns.  I think it would be really nice to see what avatars my students would choose.  I haven’t used avatars with my students as of yet, but if I decide to really use my class blog next year, then I will definitely do so.

Written by Ashley Erin

January 30, 2011 at 10:19 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ashley – love the Voki. So neat. I also agree that because of safety some classes should use avatars. I also feel strongly that as students get closer to graduation, they should start developing their own online digital footprints so that employers, colleges and scholarship committees could see a digital resume or other information when ‘googled’.

    Leslie Raffelson

    January 31, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    • That’s a very good point. I’ve always spoken with students regarding putting their information online, but never thought of it this way. Our seniors have to complete capstone projects, and this would be a good way to get started.

      Ashley W.

      February 7, 2011 at 4:15 pm

  2. Hi Ashley! Your voki worked well. I had a hard time recording so I just typed my message. I also think avatars are great for students, but that a picture on a professional blog is much better for the reader. I also think our names should be clearly placed. Oh yeah, I love your theme.– It is interesting and pleasant at the same time. I’m behind in the challenge, but isn’t this fun?

    Sheri Edwards

    January 31, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    • This challenge has been very fun! I’m behind as well, but I promised myself that I would complete all the activities.

      Ashley W.

      February 7, 2011 at 4:16 pm


Leave a Reply

