Into My Classroom

Fourth Year Biology Teacher Sharing My Musings With The World

Clearing Desktop Clutter

leave a comment »

As the new school year approaches, I want to start fresh…have a clean slate….um….not add to my current state of chaos…

My personal laptop. My computer at work is much, much worse. 😦

Tired of all the clutter, I spent an afternoon cleaning up my space.

Since this is my personal laptop, I designated a folder called “Work” on my desktop for easy access.

There are several categories in this folder:

  • AP Biology
  • AP Environmental Science
  • Biology
  • Curriculum and Standards
  • Grad School – Union
  • Grants/PD
  • MEA
  • MET Project
  • Reference
In the folders for each class, the categories are:
  • Assessments
  • Assignments
  • Lesson Plans
  • Media
  • Reports
  • Resources
Now my desktop is a lot cleaner with my files much easier to find.
This project is far from finished though.
My 8GB Flash Drive is filling up fast with 1.2 GB remaining and I would like to clean it up.  It is also very messy and unorganized.
Then there is my work computer, that I’m sure will take more than one afternoon to fill up.
I am also experimenting with backing up my data online, using a PB Wiki.  With the educator account from PB Wiki, I am able to upload some of my files for easy access.
What are some methods you use to keep your computer files organized?
Written by Ashley Erin

August 4, 2011 at 5:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

